Moving to meetup.com

Yes, I am migrating us to meetup.com.

It was bound to happen sooner or later because well, meetup.com is awesome and has a much larger outreach than our blog can ever have.

What I would like everyone who is subscribed to this blog to do is head over to meetup.com, create an account if you haven’t and join our new meetup,

http://www.meetup.com/Houston-CS/

We’ll talk more about meetup.com and why I decided on this change, also you’ll learn that this is not free, I’m paying by the month out of what little funds we have left from our funding every month to host our meetup site.  If, and only if meetup helps us attract more .NET devs (how many times every year do they come up to me and say “wow there’s a C# UG?  Never knew) then it will be worth it.  I also believe at some point we will need sponsorship at least a few meetings a year to cover the costs on my end for the security, food and meetup.com monthly fee.

Thanks, and I look forward to learning and using Meetup.com for organizing our group and meetings.  I will post up our next meeting for Wed. the 20th soon, but I would like everyone to register first (it’s free to register and join groups btw).

This will most likely be the last blog post on wordpress and after you joining meetup.com you will get the same email notification for every post and meeting agenda that is added.

Leave a Reply

